FINAL - MINUTES OF THE NEW BRAUNFELS CITY COUNCIL - SPECIAL REGULAR MEETING OF MONDAY, APRIL 28, 2025

AGENDA AMENDED 04-25-2025

CALL TO ORDER

Mayor Pro Tem Campos called the meeting to order at 5:08 p.m.

CALL OF ROLL: CITY SECRETARY

Present 5 - Mayor Pro Tem Andres Campos, Councilmember D. Lee Edwards, Councilmember Lawrence Spradley, Councilmember Mary Ann Labowski, and Councilmember April Ryan

Absent 2 - Mayor Neal Linnartz, and Councilmember Christopher Willis

1. CONSENT AGENDA

- A) Approval of the appointments to the Airport Advisory Board of Curtis Lepp, Jason Kern, and John Smith to the three (3) City Resident seats with terms ending 05-31-2028.
- B) Approval of the appointment to the Arts Commission recommended by the Greater New Braunfels Arts Council of Brianna Mendez to seat #1 with an expiration date of 05-31-2028 and the Ad Hocs recommendations of Elizabeth West and Madison Crowe to the city resident seats with expiration terms of 05-31-2028.
- C) Approval of the appointments of Jenny Jaeckle and Seth Reichenau to the Board of Adjustment for two (2) At Large seats with terms ending 05-31-2028 and Maurice Lewis II and Timothy Bray for two (2) Alternate seats with terms ending 05-31-2028.
- D) Approval of the appointments of Scott Morehouse and Serena Morris to the Community Development Advisory Committee with unexpired terms ending 11-30-2025 and Carla Brenton with an unexpired term ending 11-30-2026.
- E) Approval of the appointment of Serg Guerrero to an Alternate seat on the Construction Board of Appeals with a term ending 05-31-2028.
- F) Approval of the appointments for the Downtown Board to include Chris Snider for the Downtown Property/Business Owner with a term ending 05-31-2028, Pat Butler for the Downtown Association Representative

with a term ending 05-31-2028, Paul Schaefer for the City Resident seat with a term ending 05-31-2028, and Tanya Pence for the New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce Representative with a term ending 05-31-2028.

- G) Approval of the appointments of Bradford Jones, Mariella Giordano and Rykley Crowe to the City Resident seats for the Heritage Commission with terms ending 05-31-2028.
- H) Approval of appointments to the Historic Landmark Commission to Christi Sims as a Historic Property Owner, Justin Ball and Jesus Najar for two At-Large seats all with an expiration date of 05-31-2028.
- I) Approval of the appointments of Chris Snider and Kat Balmos to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 3 for the Property Owner Seats with terms ending 05-31-2027.
- J) Approval of the appointment of Edgar Sada to the Water and Wastewater Impact Fee Advisory Committee for the ETJ Resident & Real Estate/Building/Development seat with a term ending 05-31-2028.
- K) Approval of the appointments of David Marks to the unexpired term for the ETJ/At-Large Watershed Advisory Committee with a term ending 05-31-2027, Brad Baker for the unexpired term for the Developer with a term ending 05-31-2027, Julianna Peacock for an unexpired term for the HOA seat with a term ending 05-31-2026, Paul Sanchez-Navarro for the HOA seat with a term ending 05-31-2028, and Erin Silva for an At-Large seat with a term ending 05-31-2028.

Approval of the Consent Agenda

Mayor Pro Tem Campos asked for a motion and a second to approve the consent agenda items.

Councilmember Edwards made a motion to approve the consent agenda. Councilmember Spradley seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Absent:

Mayor Linnartz, and Councilmember Willis

2. WORKSHOP

A) Discuss and consider an appointment to the Tax Increment

Reinvestment Zone No. 3 for the At-Large seat with a term ending 05-31-2027.

Mayor Pro tem Campos read the aforementioned item.

Gayle Wilkinson presented this item to council.

Zackary Meador introduced himself and spoke to council.

The following individual was nominated to the Tax Increment Reinvestment Zone No. 3 At-Large position endina Mav 31. 2027: Zackary Meador.

Councilmember Spradley motioned to appoint the nominated applicant. Councilmember Ryan seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Absent:

Mayor Linnartz, and Councilmember Willis

B) Interview applicants and appoint three (3) individuals to the New Braunfels Planning Commission for three (3) At Large seats with terms ending 05-31-2028.

Mayor Pro tem Campos read the aforementioned item.

Gayle Wilkinson presented this item to council.

City Council interviewed the three present planning commission applicants: Ben Miedema, Hunter Schwarz, and Karen Brasier.

The following applicant was absent: Angela Allen.

The following individuals were nominated to the Planning Commission At-Large positions ending May 31, 2028: Angela Allen, Hunter Schwarz, and Karen Brasier.

Councilmember Spradley motioned to appoint the nominated applicant. Councilmember Edwards seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Absent:

Mayor Linnartz, and Councilmember Willis

3. **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

In accordance with the Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code, Ch. 551.071, the City Council may convene in a closed session to discuss any of the items listed on this agenda. Any final action or vote on any executive session item will be taken in open session.

4. NECESSARY. RECONVENE INTO OPEN SESSION AND TAKE ANY ACTION **RELATING** TO THE **EXECUTIVE SESSION** AS **DESCRIBED** ABOVE.

There were no executive session items.

No action was taken at this time.

5. ADJOURNMENT

Mayor Pro Tem Campos adjourned at 5:37 p.m.

Attest:	By : ANDRÉS CAMPOS, MAYOR PRO TEM
GAYLE WILKINSON, CITY SECRETARY	