MINUTES OF THE NEW BRAUNFELS HERITAGE COMMISSION REGULAR MEETING OF THURSDAY, APRIL 8, 2021

Commissioners

Glenn Griffin – Chair – Present
Martha McLaurin – Vice Chair – Present
Lauren Strack – Commissioner – Present
Pamela Brandt – Commissioner – Present
Collette Nies – Commissioner – Present
Kristi Joy Simmons – Commissioner – Absent
Brandt Tucker – Commissioner – Absent

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

Commissioner Glenn Griffin called the meeting to order at 5:32 p.m.

2. ROLL CALL

Caitlin Krobot provided roll call. Quorum present.

3. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A) Discuss and consider approval of the minutes of the April 8, 2020 Heritage Commission annual meeting.

The approval of minutes was pulled from consideration.

4. <u>CITIZENS' COMMUNICATIONS</u>

This time is for citizens to address the Heritage Commission on issues and items of concerns not on this agenda. There will be no Heritage Commission action at this time.

No one spoke at this time.

5. <u>INDIVIDUAL ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION</u>

A) Discuss and consider the election of a chair.

Thursday, April 8, 2021 New Braunfels Heritage Commission Regular Meeting

Commissioner Collette Nies moved to elect Glenn Griffin as chair. Commissioner Pamela Brandt seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

B) Discuss and consider the election of a vice chair.

Commissioner Glenn Griffin moved to elect Collette Nies as vice chair. Commissioner Martha McLaurin seconded the motion with a unanimous Vote.

C) Discuss and consider moving the application process to the Fall.

A lengthy discussion ensued. The item was tabled.

D) Discuss and consider amending the Bylaws of the City of New Braunfels Heritage Commission.

Commissioner Lauren Strack moved to approve the item with changes made by Commissioner Martha McLaurin with the changes being "A regular meeting of the Commission shall be held annually at a time agreed upon by the Commission, unless it is determined by the chairman that a specific meeting date and time must be changed due to the weather, lack of a quorum or some other sufficient reason. Commissioner Martha McLaurin seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

E) Discuss and consider action regarding allocations of 2020 hotel occupancy tax to Heritage organization applicants.

Commissioner Martha McLaurin moved to approve the allocation of funds for the Heritage applicants provided by the Commissioners. Commissioner Pamela Brandt seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

6. ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Glenn Griffin adjourned at 6:12 p.m.