City of New Braunfels, Texas 550 Landa Street

Tuesday, April 6, 2021

5:30 PM

<u>Arts Commission</u> <u>Minutes</u>

Commissioners

Dee Buck - Chair – Present Janet Allen – Vice Chair – Present Adam Fellers – Commissioner – Present Brad Wehring – Commissioner – Present Carol Snider – Commissioner – Present Tiffany Quiring – Commissioner – Present MaryEllen Gaubatz – Commissioner - Present

AGENDA

1. <u>CALL TO ORDER</u>

Commissioner Dee Buck called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

2. <u>APPROVAL OF MINUTES</u>

 A) Discuss and consider approval of the minutes of the May 4, 2020 Arts Commission annual meeting.
The approval of the minutes was pulled from consideration.

3. <u>CITIZENS COMMUNICATIONS</u>

This time is for citizens to address the Arts Commission on issues and items of concerns not on this agenda. There will be no Arts Commission action at this time.

No one spoke at this time.

4. INDIVIDUAL ITEMS FOR CONSIDERATION

A) Discuss and consider the election of a chair.

Commissioner Wehring moved to elect Commissioner Dee Buck as chair. Commissioner Snider seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

B) Discuss and consider the election of a vice chair.

Commissioner Wehring moved to elect Commissioner Janet Allen as vice chair. Commissioner Snider seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

C) Discuss and consider moving the application process to the Fall.

Caitlin Krobot presented this item.

James Bettersworth, Jason Irle, and Cheryl Fisher spoke on this item.

Commissioner Wehring moved to support moving the HOT funds process to the Fall. Commissioner Gaubatz seconded the motion with a unanimous vote. D) Discuss and consider amending the Bylaws of the City of New Braunfels Arts Commission.

Caitlin Krobot presented this item.

Commissioner Wehring moved to approve the item. Commissioner Gaubatz seconded the motion with a 6-1 vote with Commissioner Allen in opposition.

 E) Discuss and consider action regarding allocations of 2020 hotel occupancy tax to Arts organization applicants.

Caitlin Krobot presented this item.

Cheryl Fisher, Roberta Elliot, Marcy Helmke, and James Bettersworth spoke on this item.

Commissioner Adam Fellers moved to approve the allocation of funds for The Arts applicants provided by the Commissioners. Commissioner Brad Wehring seconded the motion with a unanimous vote.

5. <u>ADJOURNMENT</u>

Commissioner Dee Buck adjourned at 6:49 p.m.

Chair, Dee Buck