

Memberships of the Heritage Commission & **Historic Landmark Commission** Patrick Aten, City Secretary **Amy McWhorter, Historic Preservation Officer** February 11, 2019

HMA dissolution



Historic Museums Association (HMA)

- Founded in 1990s to promote local museums
- Comprised of museum representatives

December 2018

HMA voted to dissolve: variety of issues

Board memberships

 HMA has representation on Heritage Commission and Historic Landmark Commission

Heritage Commission



Chapter 66, Section 26

 "...Heritage Commission...shall be composed of seven citizens of the city who are interested in historic preservation and heritage activities, which shall not include any current paid employees or board members of any organization that requests funding from the New Braunfels Heritage Commission. Such commission shall cor more than three of whom shall h nhors no ums Association. In

Historic Landmark Commission



Chapter 66, Section 52

- "...Historic Landmark Commission... shall consist of nine members. A minimum of six members shall be residents of the city and/or Comal County, or Guadalupe County in the city extraterritorial jurisdiction. The members are appointed, to the extent available in the community, by the city council as follows:
 - One person from the Comal County Historical Commission;
 One-Two property owners from any historic district;
 Three members of the Historic Museums Association;
 Four Six members-at-large..."



Questions?