SPECIAL MINUTES OF THE NEW BRAUNFELS CITY COUNCIL SPECIAL MEETING OF MONDAY, MAY 20, 2019

The City Council of the City of New Braunfels, Texas, met in a special session on May 20, 2019, at 6:00 p.m.

City Councilmembers present were:

Present 7 - Mayor Barron Casteel, Councilmember Shane Hines,
Councilmember Justin Meadows, Councilmember Harry
Bowers, Councilmember Matthew E. Hoyt, Mayor Pro Tem
Wayne Peters, and Councilmember Leah García

The meeting was called to order by Mayor Casteel in the New Braunfels City Hall Council Chambers at 6:02 p.m. Councilmember Hoyt gave the invocation and led the Pledge of Allegiance and Salute to the Texas Flag.

1. WORKSHOP

- A) Discuss and consider approval of the purchase and installation of heating, ventilation, and air conditioning units from Team Mechanical of Texas, LLC at the Westside Community Center, on behalf of the New Braunfels Public Library, utilizing Community Development Block Grant program funding.
- B) Discuss and consider approval of the replacement of exterior fire escapes by LMC Corporation at the Westside Community Center, on behalf of the New Braunfels Public Library, utilizing Community Development Block Grant program funding.

Mayor Casteel read the aforementioned captions.

Gretchen Pruett presented both items.

Councilmember Garcia moved to approve the items. Councilmember Bowers seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

- C) Interview applicants for the Planning Commission for terms ending May 31, 2022.
- D) Interview applicants for the Zoning Board of Adjustment for terms ending May 31, 2021.

Mayor Casteel read the aforementioned captions.

City Council interviewed applicants for Planning Commission and Zoning Board of Adjustment.

E) Discuss and consider approval of the appointment of three individuals to the Planning Commission for terms ending May 31, 2022.

Mayor Casteel read the aforementioned caption.

Councilmember Garcia moved to Stanley Laskowski, appoint John Mathis. and Shaun Gibson to the Planning Commission. the motion Councilmember Hovt which seconded passed unanimously.

F) Discuss and consider approval of the appointment of two regular and two alternate members to the Zoning Board of Adjustment for terms ending May 31, 2021.

Mayor Casteel read the aforementioned caption.

moved to Councilmember Hines appoint Cynthia Foster and John Coker to be regular members of the Zoning Board of Adjustment. Councilmember Meadows seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

Mayor Pro Tem Peters moved to appoint Bonnie Leitch and Steve Quidley to be alternate members of the Zoning Board of Adjustment. Councilmember Garcia seconded the motion which passed unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 7:55 p.m.

Date Approved:	May 28, 2019
Parran (Casteel. Mavor

Attest:	
Patrick Aten, City Secretary	