## Draft Minutes for the February 2, 2021 Planning Commission Regular Meeting

D) Public hearing and recommendation to City Council regarding a proposed rezoning of approximately 19.963 acres out of the Sarah DeWitt Survey No. 48, Abstract No. 103, in Guadalupe County, Texas, located at the northeast corner of the intersection of FM 725 and East Klein Road, from "R-1" Single-Family District and "APD" Agricultural/Pre-Development District to "REAPD" River's Edge Apartments Planned Development District. Applicant: Herman Kittle Properties, Inc. (Elena Sanders, Director of Development); Owner: Margaret Denise Kosko; Case Manager: Matt Greene.

Mr. Greene presented and recommended approval with conditions as listed in the staff report.

Chair Edwards asked if there were any questions for staff.

Discussion followed on access to FM 725 and Klein Rd.

Chair Edwards asked if the applicant would like to speak.

Elana Sanders, Herman & Kittle Properties, 500 East 96<sup>th</sup> Street STE 300, addressed various concerns brought up previously and additional concerns brought up with public notice responses.

Discussion followed on height, access, surrounding properties, setbacks, and topography.

Chair Edwards opened the public hearing and asked if anyone wished to speak.

Karen Nussbaumer, 2323 Bretzke Ln, stated opposition to the request citing traffic and noise.

Ron Griffith, 306 E Klein, stated opposition to the request citing neighborhood character.

Chair Edwards closed the public hearing.

Chair Edwards asked if there were any further questions or a motion.

Motion by Commissioner Meyer, seconded by Commissioner Sonier, to recommend approval to City Council of the proposed rezoning of approximately 19.963 acres out of the Sarah DeWitt Survey No. 48, Abstract No. 103, in Guadalupe County, Texas, located at the northeast corner of the intersection of FM 725 and East Klein Road, from "R-1" Single-Family District and "APD" Agricultural/Pre-Development District to "REAPD" River's Edge Apartments Planned Development District. Motion failed (3-0-6) with Vice Chair Laskowski, Commissioner Gibson, Commissioner Reaves, Commissioner Mathis, Commissioner Nolte, and Commissioner Sonier in opposition.