New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors Special Meeting Minutes

September 30, 2020

Minutes

The New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation September Regular Meeting was called to order on Thursday, September 30, 2020, at 6:02 p.m. via Zoom Virtual Meeting.

Present: President Neal Linnartz, Vice President Kathy Meurin, Secretary Jim Poage, Director Stuart Hansmann, and Director Kristen Carden.

Absent: Director Brian Cox, Treasurer Don Austin

Chamber Staff: Michael Meek, Chester Jenke.

City Staff: Mayor Rusty Brockman, City Attorney Val Acevedo, City of New Braunfels Community and Economic Development Director Jeff Jewell, City of New Braunfels CFO Jared Werner, City of New Braunfels Capital Projects Manager Jennifer Cain, and City of New Braunfels Asst Public Works Director Garry Ford.

1. A public hearing for a proposed project expenditure of up to \$1,500,000 to the City of New Braunfels for the construction and realignment of Elizabeth Avenue from Landa Park Drive to approximately Hinman Island Drive in Landa Park. This project was found to be an eligible project expenditure related to recreational or community facilities in accordance with Local Government Code Section 505.152. Jewell introduced the project background and provided an overview of the design needed to improve safety of the intersection, pedestrian usability, and overall safety of the area. The project would run concurrently with an NBU project in the same area, so the timing is critical.

Public Comment was opened at 6:10 p.m. with no comments made; closed at 6:11 p.m.

A motion to approve the project as designed for a total of \$1,500,000 was made by Meurin, second by Poage – roll call vote:

President Neal Linnartz, FOR

Vice President Kathy Meurin, FOR

Secretary Jim Poage, FOR

Director Stuart Hansmann, FOR

Director Kristen Carden, FOR

Adjournment.

a. The September 30, 2020 Special Meeting of the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation was adjourned at 6:17 p.m. **CERTIFICATION**

Neal Linnartz

President

Jim Poage Secretary