#### MINUTES COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT ADVISORY COMMITTEE June 2, 2021

Members of the City of New Braunfels' Community Development Advisory Committee met on June 2, 2021 via a Zoom virtual meeting due to COVID-19 social distancing requirements. CDAC members logged into the meeting to record attendance. A quorum of the Community Development Advisory Committee was present. Emily Lane called the meeting to order at 6:04 PM.

Present:	Emily Lane, Marc Hamilton, Sue Briner, Daniel Seydler, Robert Blythin, Tommy Carden, Amy Gusman, and Shae Burnett						
Absent:	No Committee Members were absent						
Staff Present:	Jennifer Gates, Grants Coordinator, and Paula Harper, CDBG Consultant						
Citizens Present:	One citizen was present						
<b>WELCOME</b> : Emily Lane, Chair, called the meeting to order at 6:04 PM and welcomed everyone.							

- **<u>MINUTES</u>**: Consider approval of May 5, 2021 minutes. There were no revisions to the minutes.
  - <u>MOTION</u>: Tommy Carden moved to approve the May 5, 2021 minutes. Motion was seconded by Daniel Seydler.
  - <u>VOTE</u>: Minutes for May 5, 2021 meeting were unanimously approved.

## A. CDBG UPDATES

- a. Paula Harper reviewed the Project Progress Spreadsheet, including a report of agencies that are, and are not, spending their awarded PY20 funding on schedule.
- b. Jennifer Gates discussed that the City's PY21 CDBG grant allocation had been increased by HUD on May 18 and that the City made an internal determination to award the increased funds to the Boys and Girls Club for Public Services, to the Comal County Crisis Center for Public Facilities, and Habitat for Humanity for Housing. Several motions resulted after a discussion of the increased CDBG award.

<u>MOTION</u>: Tommy Carden made a motion to revise the May 5 recommended funding allocations to fully fund the Comal County Crisis Center and reduce the funding for Comal County Habitat for Humanity by the corresponding amount. Motion was seconded by Daniel Seydler.

<u>VOTE</u>: The motion was not approved.

<u>MOTION</u>: Daniel Seydler made a motion to approve the City's proposed distribution of the increased CDBG PY21 award funds, thereby increasing the CDAC-recommended funding allocations to the Boys and Girls Club, the Comal County Crisis Center, and Habitat for Humanity. Sue Briner seconded the motion.

<u>VOTE</u>: Motion was unanimously approved.

c. Paula Harper reported that the draft PY21 Annual Action Plan was ready for review and reminded the committee that public hearings and the presentation of the funding recommendations would be held at City Council meetings on June 14<sup>th</sup> and June 28<sup>th</sup>. CDAC members were encouraged to attend the public hearings. A request was made that the PowerPoint presentation be emailed to the committee prior to the June 14<sup>th</sup> City Council meeting.

## B. COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT BLOCK GRANT PROGRAM

a. There was a review and discussion of the application and ranking process for PY21. There were comments discussed that will be incorporated into the application process for PY22 such as requesting a timeline by quarter and subtraction of points for poor performance.

**NEXT MEETING:** The next meeting will be on December 1, 2021, beginning at 6:00 PM. The committee will discuss and determine the desired format of the December 1 meeting during the CDAC meeting on August 4.

**ADJOURNMENT:** Being no further business, the meeting adjourned 7:11 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

PANLA HARPIR

Paula Harper

# CDAC ATTENDANCE CHART Updated: June 2, 2021

Member	Dec. 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Jan. 6 <sup>th</sup>	Feb. 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Mar. 3 <sup>rd</sup>	April 7 <sup>th</sup>	April 21 <sup>st</sup>	May 5 <sup>th</sup>	June 2 <sup>nd</sup>	Aug. 4 <sup>th</sup>	Additional Meeting	Absent
Robert Blythin	x	х	х	Х	Х	Х	х	х			
Susan Briner	x	Х	х	Х	Х	х	Х	x			
Shae Burnett		х	Х	х	х	Х	х	х			
Tommy Carden	x	Х	Х		Х	Х	Х	х			1
Amy Gusman	x	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	х			
Marc Hamilton	x	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	х			
Emily Lane	x	х	Х	х	х	Х	х	х			
Daniel Seydler		Х			Х	Х	Х	х			3

### From the By-Laws:

## ARTICLE IV – TERMS

**A.** A committee member shall be assumed to have resigned his/her position, thereby forfeiting his/her unexpired term of office if, during the calendar year, he/she is absent three (3) consecutive times or a total of four (4) times in a calendar year, provided at least five (5) day notice of the meeting has been given.