

CITY OF NEW BRAUNFELS, TEXAS REDISTRICTING COMMITTEE December 2, 2021 Meeting Minutes

The Redistricting Committee of the City of New Braunfels, Texas convened on Thursday, December 2, 2021 at 5:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the New Braunfels City Hall located at 550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, Texas.

1. Call to Order. The meeting was called to order by Chair, Atanacio Campos at 5:31 p.m. in the Council Chambers at the City of New Braunfels City Hall located at 550 Landa Street, New Braunfels, Texas.

2. Roll Call – Committee Members present were:

Andres Campos-Delgado, District 1 Christopher Willis, District 2 Atanacio Campos, District 3 Jay Hogue, District 4 Wayne Peters, District 5 Stuart Hansmann, District 6 Kim Farlow, At Large Sherry Harrison, At Large Rob Smith, At Large

Committee Members not present were:

Meg Guerra, Mayoral Appointment

City Staff present were:

Valeria M. Acevedo, City Attorney Nathan Brown, Assistant City Attorney Savannah Maurer, Paralegal

3. Approval of November 15, 2021 Minutes.

Atanacio Campos opened discussion and review of the minutes. A motion to approve the November 15, 2021 minutes was made by Wayne Peters and was seconded by Christopher Willis. The minutes of the November 15, 2021 meeting were approved by unanimous vote.

4. Presentation and discussion of draft maps.

Atanacio Campos read the aforementioned item. Val Acevedo introduced Rezzin Pullum from Bojorquez Law Firm who presented the aforementioned item.

Councilmembers discussed the changes made to Map A and Map B presented and preferred to present Map B as the final map.

Val Acevedo discussed the December 6 deadline for the public to submit their own maps for consideration at the next committee meeting. Draft Maps A and B will be presented to the public for their review on the City's website and social media.

Further discussion will be made at the next meeting to discuss finalizing the redistricting map to be presented to City Council.

5. Adjournment.

A Motion to Adjourn was made by Christopher Willis and was seconded by Wayne Peters. Meeting adjourned at 6:11 p.m.