

Legislation Text

File #: 24-565, Version: 1

#### **PRESENTER:**

Gayle Wilkinson, City Secretary

#### SUBJECT:

Approval of the Mayoral appointments of Glen Graham to the Comal County Representative seat, Libby Pender, and Kevin Webb to the City Resident seats with terms ending May 31, 2026, for the Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (TIRZ).

## **DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary

## **COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** All districts

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

The Reinvestment Zone No. 1 - Creekside TIRZ Board makes recommendations to Council concerning the administration of the Zone, prepares and adopts a project plan and reinvestment financing plan for the Zone and implements project plan and financing plan with power to employ consultants, subject to Council approval. This board also serves as the New Braunfels Development Authority as needed.

This board shall consist of seven members. Positions One through Five on the Board of Directors shall be reserved for the City. Positions Six and Seven shall be reserved for other taxing units levying taxes within the Zone, each of whom may appoint one director. Any other taxing unit that appoints a director shall be assigned a Board position number in the order the City receives the appointment. If more than two taxing units (other than the City) levying taxes within the Zone appoint a director, the number of directors on the Board of Directors shall be increased by one for each taxing unit ( other than the City) above two that appoints a director to the board; provided, if more than four taxing units ( other than the City) levying taxes within the Zone appoint a director, the number of directors on the Board of Directors shall be increased by two for each taxing unit above four that appoints a director to the board, provided, further, that the maximum number of directors shall not exceed fifteen (15). The City Secretary's Office accepted applications from February 1, 2024, through March 31, 2024, and received 3 applications. The Mayor has approved the applications for Glen Graham to the Comal ISD representative seat, Kevin Webb to the Comal County representative seat and Libby Pender to the City Resident seat with terms ending May 31, 2026.

## **ISSUE:**

The Reinvestment Zone No. 1 - Creekside TIRZ Board members are selected by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council.

## **FISCAL IMPACT:**

No Fiscal Impact.

# **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends the appointment of 3 individuals to the Reinvestment Zone No.1 board with terms ending May 31, 2026.