

City of New Braunfels, Texas

550 Landa Street New Braunfels, TX

Legislation Details (With Text)

File #: 19-061 Name:

Type: Resolution Status: Consent Item Ready

File created: 1/3/2019 In control: City Council

On agenda: 2/11/2019 Final action:

Title: Approval of a resolution appointing election officers for the May 4, 2019 Regular and Special

Elections.

Sponsors:

Indexes:

Code sections:

Attachments: 1. election judges resolution

Date Ver. Action By Action Result

Presenter/Contact Patrick Aten, City Secretary (830) 221-4010 - paten@nbtexas.org

SUBJECT:

Approval of a resolution appointing election officers for the May 4, 2019 Regular and Special Elections.

BACKGROUND / RATIONALE:

The Texas Election Code provides that municipal elections are to be administered by special officers called Election Judges. These judges are paid, independent officers who oversee the balloting on Election Day in a particular precinct, and are assisted by an alternate judge and election clerks. The City Council is vested with the authority to appoint Election Judges and Alternate Election Judges.

The Election Code also provides for a special board, the Early Voting Ballot Board, to oversee mail-in balloting and provisional voting. This board reviews all mail-in ballots to ensure that they were properly cast by the voter who requested them. They will also determine the validity of votes cast by provisional voters on Election Day. The City Council is vested with the authority to appoint the Presiding Judge of the Board.

The City Secretary's Office makes the following recommendations regarding the appointment of the following officers to administer the May 4, 2019 Regular and Special Elections for the City of New Braunfels:

Early Voting Ballot Board Presiding Judge Clinton Brandt

District 1 Presiding & Alternate Judges

Presiding Judge: Sharon Fogg

File #: 19-061, Version: 1

Alternate Judge: Christina Rickard

<u>District 2 Presiding & Alternate Judges</u> Presiding Judge: Stanley Laskowski Alternate Judge: Elaine Babula

District 3 Presiding & Alternate Judges

Presiding Judge: Tom Orr Alternate Judge: Angela Clifton

District 4 Presiding & Alternate Judges

Presiding Judge: Coleen Cooper Alternate Judge: Sharon Jenks

District 5 Presiding & Alternate Judges

Presiding Judge: Pamela Panetti Alternate Judge: Enrique Villareal

District 6 Presiding & Alternate Judges

Presiding Judge: Rojelio Villareal Alternate Judge: Clare Miller

ADDRESSES A NEED/ISSUE IN A CITY PLAN OR COUNCIL PRIORITY:

N/A

FISCAL IMPACT:

Approximately \$12,000.

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

N/A

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of a resolution appointing election officers for the May 4, 2019 Regular and Special elections.