

## City of New Braunfels, Texas

550 Landa Street New Braunfels, TX

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 17-236, Version: 1

# Presenter/Contact Patrick Aten, City Secretary (830) 221-4010 - paten@nbtexas.org

#### SUBJECT:

Approval of the Mayoral appointment of four individuals to the Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (TIRZ) Board of Directors and the New Braunfels Development Authority for terms ending May 29, 2019.

#### **BACKGROUND / RATIONALE:**

Reinvestment Zone No. 1 serves the Creekside Development by facilitating a program of public improvements within the Zone. The ordinance that created the Zone provides that the Mayor appoints the members with City Council approval. The TIRZ has seven members, designated by place number, serving two year staggered terms. Place one through five are selected at-large, place six must be a representative of Comal County, and place seven must be a representative of the Comal Independent School District

The vacancies for four positions (place one, three, five, and seven) were posted February 16, 2017, through March 16, 2017.

The following applicants were selected by the Mayor for appointment:

- John Malik (incumbent, place one)
- Todd Keller (incumbent, place three)
- Tobin Hoffmann (incumbent, place five)
- Kathy Hanlon (incumbent, place seven)

#### Applicant's current & prior service on Boards and Commissions

John Malik currently serves on the TIRZ, and previously served on the NBIDC and the CTTC.

Tobin Hoffmann currently serves on the TIRZ as the Chair, and previously served on the Downtown Board.

Todd Keller currently serves on the TIRZ.

Kathy Hanlon currently serves on the TIRZ as the Comal ISD representative.

## ADDRESSES A NEED/ISSUE IN A CITY PLAN OR COUNCIL PRIORITY:

N/A

#### FISCAL IMPACT:

File #: 17-236, Version: 1

N/A

## **COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:**

N/A

### **STAFF RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends approval of the Mayoral appointment of four individuals to the Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (TIRZ) Board of Directors and the New Braunfels Development Authority for terms ending May 29, 2019.