

Legislation Text

File #: 18-473, Version: 1

Presenter/Contact Patrick Aten, City Secretary (830) 221-4010 - paten@nbtexas.org

SUBJECT:

Discuss and consider approval of the appointment of three individuals to the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors for terms ending October 9, 2020.

BACKGROUND / RATIONALE:

The New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors has seven regular members serving two-year staggered terms. The vacancies for these positions were posted from July 15 through August 15, 2018.

The following qualified applications were submitted:

- John Archer (incumbent)
- Brian Cox (incumbent)
- James Poage (incumbent)
- Jeffrey Ayers
- Marc Hamilton
- Alice Jewell
- Joe Turner

Applicants' current & prior service on Boards and Commissions

John Archer has served on the NBEDC since September 2016.

Brian Cox has served on the NBEDC since September 2016.

James Poage has served on the NBEDC since October 2014. He is a 2015 graduate of City University.

Jeffrey Ayers currently serves on the Community Development Advisory Committee.

Marc Hamilton currently serves on the Community Development Advisory Committee and TIRZ Board.

Alice Jewell has previously served on the 2012 Street Banner Committee and the 2019 Bond Advisory Committee.

Joe Turner has no previous experience on a City board or commission.

ADDRESSES A NEED/ISSUE IN A CITY PLAN OR COUNCIL PRIORITY: N/A

IN/A

FISCAL IMPACT:

N/A

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

N/A

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of the appointment of three individuals to the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors for terms ending October 9, 2020.