

City of New Braunfels, Texas

550 Landa Street New Braunfels, TX

Legislation Text

File #: 19-620, Version: 1

Presenter/Contact Patrick Aten, City Secretary (830) 221-4010 - paten@nbtexas.org

SUBJECT:

Discuss and consider approval of the appointment of four individuals to the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors for terms ending October 9, 2021.

BACKGROUND / RATIONALE:

The New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors has seven regular members serving two-year staggered terms. The vacancies for these positions were posted from July 16 through August 15, 2019.

The following qualified applications were submitted:

- Don Austin (incumbent)
- Neal Linnartz (incumbent)
- Stuart Hansmann (incumbent)
- Kathy Meurin (incumbent)
- James Bettersworth
- Matthew Bonine
- Jason Briggs
- Marc Hamilton
- Jason Harmon
- Dustin Simoni
- Joe Turner
- James Wilson

Applicants' current & prior service on Boards and Commissions

Don Austin has served on the NBEDC since October 2017.

Neal Linnartz has served on the NBEDC since September 2015, and currently serves as President of the NBEDC.

Stuart Hansmann has served on the NBEDC since March 2013.

Kathy Meurin currently has served on the NBEDC since August 2016.

James Bettersworth has no previous experience on City boards.

File #: 19-620, Version: 1

Matthew Bonine has no previous experience on City boards.

Jason Briggs has no previous experience on City boards.

Marc Hamilton has served on the Community Development Advisory Committee since November 2017, and on the TIRZ Board since July of 2018.

Jason Harmon has no previous experience on City boards.

Dustin Simoni has no previous experience on City boards.

Joe Turner has served on the Parks and Recreation Advisory Board since October 2018.

James Wilson has no previous experience on City boards.

ADDRESSES A NEED/ISSUE IN A CITY PLAN OR COUNCIL PRIORITY:

N/A

FISCAL IMPACT:

N/A

COMMITTEE RECOMMENDATION:

N/A

STAFF RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval of the appointment of four individuals to the New Braunfels Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors for terms ending October 9, 2021.