

City of New Braunfels, Texas

550 Landa Street New Braunfels, TX

Legislation Text

File #: 21-724, Version: 1

PRESENTER:

Caitlin Krobot, City Secretary

SUBJECT:

Approval of the Mayoral appointment of Jacob Yaklin and reappointment of John Malik and Tobin Hoffmann to the Reinvestment Zone No. 1 (TIRZ) Board of Directors and the New Braunfels Development Authority for terms ending May 29, 2023.

DEPARTMENT: City Secretary's Office

COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED: City-wide

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

Reinvestment Zone No. 1 serves the Creekside Development by facilitating a program of public improvements within the Zone. The ordinance that created the Zone provides that the Mayor appoints the members with City Council approval. The TIRZ has seven members, designated by place number, serving two-year staggered terms. Place one through five are selected at-large, place six must be a representative of Comal County, and place seven must be a representative of the Comal Independent School District.

The following individuals are being appointed: John Malik - Place 1 (reappointment) Jacob Yaklin - Place 3 Tobin Hoffmann Place 5 (reappointment)

ISSUE:

The TIRZ Board appointments are selected by the Mayor and confirmed by City Council.

FISCAL IMPACT:

No fiscal impact.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends approval.