

# City of New Braunfels, Texas

## **Legislation Text**

File #: 21-1068, Version: 1

#### PRESENTER:

Caitlin Krobot, City Secretary

#### SUBJECT:

Consider the appointment of ten members to the Redistricting Committee

**DEPARTMENT:** City Secretary's Office

**COUNCIL DISTRICTS IMPACTED:** City-wide

#### **BACKGROUND INFORMATION:**

On September 27, 2021, City Council formed the Redistricting Committee. The Committee is comprised of 7 members selected by each Councilmember and 3 members selected at-large by City Council. Applications were received from September 28-October 10, 2021 for the 3 at-large members. During this time, 22 applications were received with 18 of the applications being eligible for consideration. The following applications are eligible for consideration of the at-large members:

- Michael Cardenas
- Toni L. Carter
- Kim Karlow
- Elizabeth Frnaklin
- Carol Griffith
- Sherry Harrison
- David Lerch
- Sherry Lerch
- Marcy McDonald
- Serena Morris
- William Ravenscroft

#### File #: 21-1068, Version: 1

- Maria Saenz-Rodriguez
- Rob Smith
- Michael Tylor
- Danielle Vega
- Christopher Werk
- Jackie Whelpley
- David Williford

The following individuals applied; however, they reside within the ETJ and are not eligible for this committee.

- John Boyd
- Lisa Brucks
- Tate Korpi
- Cheon-Joo Lee

The following individuals are the appointments by the City Council:

Mayoral Appointment - Meg Guerra

District 1 - Andres Campos-Delgado

District 2 - Christopher Willis

District 3 - Atanacio Campos

District 4 - Jay Hogue

District 5 - Wayne Peters

District 6 - Stuart Hansmann

### **ISSUE:**

Committee appointment requires Council approval.

### **FISCAL IMPACT:**

No fiscal impact.

### **RECOMMENDATION:**

Staff recommends the appointment of 10 members to the Redistricting Committee.